What is Deactivation?
Here on Facebook, Deactivation doesn't mean that you are deleting your information associated with your account. You can deactivate it as many times as you wish without any limitation and also you can keep it deactivated for any period of time. So what happens when you deactivated your account? Once your account deactivated, Facebook will hide your profile, name, pictures, comments, tags and any other associated information from other users. So no one can able to find you in Facebook and you will be disappeared from your friends' friend lists and wherever you were listed.
However it won't close your groups or delete your applications unless you selected to do so at the deactivation page. And eventhough you deactivated, your friends can still ask you to join groups, invite you to events and tag you in photos. So you will get email notifications and invitations via email unless you opt out when deactivating. Facebook profile deactivation enables you to deactivate your account temporarily without being worry about your existing information. It's another unique feature offered by Facebook for you to prevent deletion of your account and information if you wanted to leave Facebook for a while. So if you have got any reason to leave Facebook temporary, then you will find this option very useful for you.
Before You Go:
* If you wanna permanently delete your Facebook account, read How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently.
* Read through below before you deactivate your Facebook account.
Facebook Account Deactivation Checklist
1. Go to Facebook Settings page and sign in if you are not signed in already.
2. Navigate to Security from left pane.
3. Find and click Deactivate your account link.
4. Now you will be directed to deactivation page. Click Confirm button after selecting reason to leave along with other necessary options.
5. You will prompt to enter your Facebook password. Enter your Facebook password and click Deactivate Now button on the dialog box.
* Once your account deactivated, your information associated with your account will be disappeared from Facebook immediately and no one will be able to reach to your profile until you reactivate your profile again. You can reactivate your account by just logging back in to your Facebook account.
* If you try to deactivate your account more than once, next time you have to wait 24 hours to reactivate your account.